Kitchen Remodel Day 2: Budget Buster!

Day 2, Friday, started off well.  I immediately booked an electrician and plumber for the day, much to my surprise.  That was helpful for my daily stress level.  I took a quick trip to Mickey D’s for breakfast…I can totally see why people in construction keep a large soda nearby.  What’s a construction zone without a few empty McDonald’s cups hanging around? And man, those chicken biscuits are slammin’.

We had our daily plan all laid out.  My first task was to purchase a dishwasher.  I drove to the Sears Outlet allll the way out in Prince William County.  I was armed with a box – literally a rectangular prism – with four lists, one for each of the long sides.  I listed all the qualities I wanted in a dishwasher on one side.  I knew I wanted a Kenmore, white, 24″ built-in, plus other qualifications like a time delay, eco wash options, and very quiet.  Another side had a list of Consumer Reports Kenmore models listed in order for 2011 and 2010.  Still another side had a list of a few of the models I found online.  The final side had directions in case my phone died.

On my way to the store, my Dad let me know that both the plumber and the electrician were working on the kitchen.  Jackpot!

I looked and looked and looked for a dishwasher.  Yes, I’m indecisive, but there were so many choices!  And some of them were refurbished, so there was an extra layer of complexity.  I kept hearing Mike’s sage advice, “At some point, you just pick one.”  Done.  Don’t worry Aunt Bonnie, I ended up buying a new one still in the box.  It is hot.  Not quite as hot as my sink.  (I never knew I could love an object that couldn’t love me back!  That sink is hot.)  But the dishwasher is sexy, too.  I think I’ll leave them both a surprise for now.

Today was a budget busting day, for sure.  It ain’t cheap to have a plumber and electrician come visit you.  Then to buy a sassy dishwasher on top of that.  Whew!  And now I’m extremely thankful that I will have income incoming soon.  I probably would have bought a cheaper dishwasher, but the plumbers and electricians had to come (piece of mind that my house won’t have hidden leaks or burst into flames).  Have I mentioned how pretty my dishwasher is?

Since the electrician had to string a wire each for the new microwave range hood and the dishwasher, there were many holes in the wall to be patched.  Turns out one wall is standard drywall, but the other is lathe and plaster!  How exciting to have such old walls!

I spent the afternoon at the DC Dump taking care of a few pieces left over from the previous kitchen that didn’t find a new home and couldn’t be recycled.  Seriously, what city service has 4.5/5.0 stars on Yelp?  What city service has any reviews on Yelp?  Then, the lumber department at Home Depot was so empty that after waiting 15 minutes for someone to cut my plywood, I called the store to get a sales person to help.  Called.  No one picked up, then I finally spotted someone in an orange apron.  By the time I got home, it was around 6:00pm, so not much left in the day.  Haha!  Not true.  Dad and I made a subfloor!  That was fun.  Two sheets of plywood and about five different rounds of measuring and cutting and testing.  The cutting situation is us on the sidewalk holding the plywood on the retaining wall with our hands while using the table saw.  It takes two for public chaos folks.

Mike arrived for reinforcements!  Dad kept patching the walls, Mike got a bunch of drywall mud and I got dinner for the crew.  We finished up the patching, then I got to writing.  And now it’s now.  Late.  Almost 2:00 a.m. and I’m watching some of the saddest Oprah episodes from this last season while catching up on my DVR.  As if I don’t have other things to do.

  1. #1 by Bonnie Belk on May 21, 2011 - 3:25 pm

    What can I say, Megan? A sassy dishwasher? In love with your sink? Are you sure you’re okay?

    I have planning advice for the planner. No matter how well you plan, you can’t plan the unknown! Good recovery, and I’m glad you got a sassy dishwasher. Now you won’t have to call the plumber and electrician back to take a new used one out and install another one – not to mention having to move everything out of the way in the kitchen to do it. Can’t wait to see!
    Still have black eyed susans to deliver some day, but probably not right now. Tell you dad hello for me!

    Love you!
    AB

  2. #2 by Lauren on May 21, 2011 - 5:49 pm

    That is one sexy subfloor, Mings! Nice work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

