Thanks Aunt Bonnie!

A few weeks ago, Aunt Bonnie and I went to Ikea, Home Depot and Best Buy for some kitchen shopping.  (AB is my aunt who lives in Rockville, MD that I always talk about and some of you have met.)  We always have fun together, especially at Ikea where both of us like to dream and think of creative uses for odd things they sell.  She is a master of storage as evidenced by her Craft Cave of Marvels, a mid-sized and neatly organized basement room that houses all of her stamping materials from floor to ceiling.  It’s so much fun to get lost and explore and create down there.

I was telling AB about my plans to build a half wall to separate the entry from the rest of the room.  I was planning something quite elaborate in my head – a built-in with shelves, painted the same color as the wall, with white molding and possibly a column to really differentiate the spaces.  We found this nice piece instead and it’s so much easier than building a wall! Thanks so much AB!  I promised her photos and I don’t want to disappoint.

The very clean living room, Sept 2010

The very clean living room, Sept 2010

The not-as-clean living room, April 2011

The not-as-clean living room, April 2011

Looks like a cozy entry way

Looks like a cozy entry way

So organized!  Or at least appears that way!

So organized! Or at least appears that way!

I like the simplicity of the black square piece, and it can be used in other parts of the house easily in the future.  It also works as a purse holder or an end table for that side of the sofa.  The baskets handle our mail and extra stuff very well.  Corey and I now have a system!  And it looks great.  Plus, my coats aren’t all over the dining room chairs, and that’s an added bonus.  The traditional coat hooks are perfect for the space and match the molding detail beautifully.  Of course I get this up in spring when coats aren’t such a big deal, but it’s still working.  Thanks for helping, Corey.

Thanks to AB for the great gift!  It was closer to her birthday, and I got the present!

  1. #1 by Lizzie on April 23, 2011 - 4:04 pm

    I really like how you made sure to get the painted bannister in the April 2011 shot. That still is the best example of why you should always listen to your gut. Especially when it is about the color palette of your own home, dammit.

  2. #2 by Megan on April 23, 2011 - 5:34 pm

    Yes, Lizzie! I thought about calling out the differences of the two photos and the banister would have been listed as #1. I’m glad you picked up on it instead! And you’re totally right…go with your gut. Especially if it’s just paint and it’s your house to do what you please.

  3. #3 by Deepti on April 23, 2011 - 8:35 pm

    Hey, we’re looking for a couch like that, where did you get it? Is it comfortable? The living room looks great by the way, very warm and inviting.

    • #4 by Megan on April 25, 2011 - 9:08 am

      Sweet Pea, I bought the couch from Meghann, who bought it from Macy’s. Yes, it is very comfortable and great for couch naps…which I seem to be doing more of lately!

Leave a Reply

