Your Valentine’s Day Thoughts, Part IV

Thanks for sticking around, readers!  Here is Part IV for your Valentine’s Day pleasure…

“Considering the fact that the first commercial valentines in America were produced in my home city during the 19th century, one would think that I would “love” it. However any holiday that attempts to humiliate men into the supporting the floral and greeting card industries is a SHAM. I love you every day. I don’t love you more today. Let me give you something when it isn’t expected or an obligation. Plus, all the valentine’s day stuff frequently thwarts my birthday festivities, so call me a Valentine Grinch if you must…xo” ~P.D.

“As I said two Valentine’s Days ago (during my impromptu wedding vows)…more than simply being in love with my valentine, “in case of zombie apocalypse, I feel like I picked the right guy.” Nothing says love like being prepared for the (inevitable?) zombie apocalypse. Happy Valentine’s Day!” ~C.Z.

“I’ve spent this day sharing a bed with a boyfriend that I knew was totally and completely wrong for me. His snoring only compounded my feelings of being trapped and slowly suffocating. This left me feeling inexplicably lonely.

I’ve spent this day sharing my cozy bed with my dog, talking on the phone to a friend that was freezing cold, dodging rats in a DC alley. She was fighting with her boyfriend who was mad that she had shared his gift of chocolate with her single girlfriends. This left me feeling grateful that I wasn’t in the wrong relationship.

I’ve spent this day laughing till my sides hurt, surrounded by my “urban tribe” of close friends, secure in the knowledge that these folks truly love me. This left me feeling so blessed for having the right kind of relationships in my life.

This year I will spend the day celebrating all the different kinds of love I have in my life, enjoying each person for the blessing that they are to my journey.

Thanks for giving me this opportunity to think through my thoughts about VD day. It used to throw me for a loop, especially the one’s when I was single. But now, I like to celebrate the day because it reminds me that love isn’t just between me and a guy. I’m surrounded everyday by folks that love and support me. Which makes my life pretty effing awesome, even when I’m a single lady on VD day!” ~A.H.

“I’m totally not above being incredibly sappy and making big romantic gestures. And I remember liking Valentine’s Day. But these days, really, what I mostly find myself thinking about Valentine’s is, “Just don’t fuck this up… just don’t fuck this up.”” ~J.W.

“When you’re single, Valentine’s Day is an excuse to buy chocolate for yourself. When you’re in a relationship, but not with the right person, Valentine’s Day is an excuse to ask someone else to buy chocolate for you. But when you’re in a relationship with someone you love, and who loves you back, Valentine’s Day is an excuse to make someone you care for feel extra special (with or without chocolate). And that doesn’t suck one bit. Happy Valentine’s Day!” ~P.H.

This is the last of them! What a great message from P.H. to leave us with.  So, go out and make someone you care about feel extra special today, tomorrow and any day.  And remember to keep it simple.

If anyone wants to add your own, feel free to do so in the comments below.  Thanks to all who participated!  This was a ton of fun, and I learned a bit about each of you…a closet cupid, a virgin deflowered, and a zombie apocalypse partner.  Now that’s what I call a Happy Valentine’s Day!

, ,

  1. #1 by AA on February 14, 2011 - 11:42 pm

    A few years ago, my buddy J. Norfolk and I were both single. I kept after him to come to a museum party with me on Valentine’s Day. My theory was that it would be the absolute best day of the year to met single women. They’re at a party, so they like to have a good time, they are at a museum which means they’re probably intelligent, and they’re probably single because if they were in a relationship they’d have made their man take them out to a nice dinner. I was 100% correct. Unfortunately none of the women I met that night lasted but we had a great time.

    • #2 by Megan on February 15, 2011 - 12:09 pm

      Great story, A.A.! You are always a thinker. Selfishly though, I’m sort of glad that didn’t work out!!

Leave a Reply

