Your Valentine’s Day Thoughts, Part III

This beautiful and poignant comment from my sister deserved it’s own segment…

“As most of Megan’s readers know, Jacob and I lost our beautiful little baby boy, Leo on December 16th. So this Valentine’s Day is very hard for me. Valentine’s Day is all about love and, needless to say, I’ve learned new things about love in the past eight weeks.

People around me (family, friends, and even strangers) have risen up and reminded me how much love and support I have. No one has shown me the love and support I’ve desperately needed more than my wonderful husband. To say he is the bee’s knees in an understatement. He is better than free chicken sandwich day at Chick-fil-a, better than the “hot now” sign flashing at Krispy Kreme, and ten times better than scoring great tickets to a musical you have been dying to see at the half price ticket booth (seeing Fame in London – worst show, thus making it the best show, for around $10 is an example)…you get the picture of how wonderful he is (and SUPER cute to boot)! I know what it feels like to find your heart’s match. For me, Jacob fulfills that longing that we all have to find our “someone”—he is my everything. So the sad part: It breaks my heart that little Leo’s soul mate will never have the opportunity to meet Leo. She (or he) will either never find love or will have to settle for less than his or her perfect match. The idea of this breaks my heart even more than it already is broken.

Right now, during the most painful period of my life, “love,” to me, looks something like this: I still get up in the morning, eat meals, avoid bottles of wine, write e-mails and texts, update facebook, shower, and attempt to get through the day without totally falling apart on the outside. I go through the motions of life so that my pain won’t hurt the people around me, the people I love. In a way, I’m trying to protect them and right now that is as close to a mother’s love as I can get. Needless to say, Valentine’s Day is going to be extra hard this year. I will need LOTS of chocolate. FYI, I like dark chocolate.

Thanks to all who have shown and continue to show me love everyday. I don’t know how I would get through without you. I love you all.” ~M.B.

, ,

  1. #1 by Bonnie Belk on February 15, 2011 - 10:53 am

    Thanks, Megan

    • #2 by Megan on February 15, 2011 - 12:01 pm

      Thanks for reading, AB. And a big special thanks to Melissa for sharing her thoughts…I’m sure that wasn’t easy. Hopefully it helped a bit. And if that doesn’t work, then maybe the package she should be getting soon will!

Leave a Reply

