Your Valentine’s Day Thoughts, Part II

If you missed the Intro or Part I, feel free to check it out.  Basically, I’m giving some friends and family a chance to comment on their memories, thoughts and feelings about this “holiday.”  Here is Part II….

“Valentine’s Day – well it is certainly a nice way to tell (or remind) someone you love them, but as a holiday it just sucks. And although Hallmark, American Greetings and Whitman might disagree with me… it is right up there with Ground Hog day and Columbus Day (unless you are a federal employee and you get off and paid on Columbus Day!) So, until we turn it over to Disney to market – I guess we will just live with what we have. Happy Valentine Day!” ~ C.C.

“Valentine’s Day is one of those days I used to be ambivalent about. In high school, I anxiously awaited candy-grams in homeroom. In college, it became the occasion for The Vagina Monologues and a low-carb gift basket from my parents. I used to be really bitter around Valentine’s Day because I am never in relationships around that time of year. Actually I am just never in relationships. But I had a co-worker a few years back during a particularly bitter swing (involving an actual sweetheart for once who was out of town for the week of Valentine’s Day. What is my life!!), and she just LOVES Valentine’s Day. To Jenna, what is there NOT to love about a day when people declare/honor/celebrate/hope for love for each other? Honestly, I had never thought about it that way before but it made it a whole lot lovelier. Now I try to think about love in general on Valentine’s Day, so my whole family and friends get something in the mail, a little declaration of my never ending love and appreciation for them. :)” ~L.W.

“Favorite memory is when I was 10 years old, I dressed up as Cupid and hid in the closet of my best friend’s twin sister, aiming for a kiss. I failed completely, since she’d already used her closet that day and I got bored…
Least favorite memory was when I was 24. I had just broken up with my first serious girlfriend two weeks earlier and met her in line to get into a singles night dance. We spent a very awkward couple of hours in line, neither of us prepared to back down, before returning home, alone, having failed to get into the club!” ~R.A.

“If you can’t drink well, why pretend on St. Patrick’s Day? If you can’t dress like a slut well, why pretend on Halloween? If you can’t love well, why try on Valentine’s Day?” ~C.H.

“I was unceremoniously dumped by a man who decided overnight that I was no longer attractive to him, what I said was “What can I do to make you love me again?” What I should have said was “Oh yeah, well once a week you bear a striking resemblance to Charlie Brown, not attractive, but then I wake up the next day and you are back to cute.” Love isn’t all squishy and happy all the time. I would love to see a Valentine’s Day that celebrates the ugly side of love. A movie where the leading man meets the sexy wedding planner and acknowledges that he will probably find her less than attractive on some days and remains faithful to his fiance. A romantic comedy that shows my friend’s 85+ year old grandparents and details all the times they almost killed each other. A love story that portrays a beautiful 60 year old woman full of life who stands by her husband with Alzheimer because she loves the man that he used to be. NO MORE INSTANT GRATIFICATION, no one is attractive 100% of the time, unconditional love is for puppies, real love is hard and will not come from kissing a frog.” ~S.H.

“Love is never having to say you’re sorry… for wearing pimple cream.” ~S.A.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

