Corey’s Texts

I find my roommate Corey to be extremely entertaining, and you know I will laugh at anything which is probably why he’s stuck around for so long.  I finally got to a point where I just had to share some of the inner workings of the Corn Palace.  For those of you who have the pleasure of knowing Corey personally, you will probably find this post hysterical because of his Coreyisms.  If you don’t really know him, or maybe know him through this blog, there are still some good pieces in here that will make you chuckle.  From January and early February 2011, here are some snippets of how I’ve stayed informed and entertained…my comments/explanations in italics.

  • Jan. 3: Did you see DPW Department of Public Works already got the Christmas tree?  Yay tax dollars at work
  • Jan 3: Bo’s update: still nothing to add. Sad face.  Bojangle’s new Union Station location.
  • Jan 4: Yay! We are making a beer bong at Corby’s making a beer bong. Seriously. Yes, that’s the exact wording.
  • Jan 11: Things I just saw in gran turismo: bus/bike shared lane (from Madrid). Love it. Gran Turismo 5 on the PS3 was his Christmas gift and he’s obsessed.  It’s on our television a lot.
  • Jan 11: :(. I was focused on lanes and ran into wall 😦 To which I responded that he frequently runs into walls without a bike lane distraction.
  • Jan 11: By the way, madrid goes bus/taxi lane (like 7th in chinatown) with a separate bike lane.  I’m in love.
  • Jan 11: Not gonna toot my own horn but without salt/ice melt you’re not going to see a better shovel/sweep job.
  • Jan 13: A little. I want to rest and hopefully prevent full blown SARS.
  • Jan 14: Do you have a thermometer I can use (and clean when I’m done)
  • Jan 14: For the life of me I can’t get the thermometer to work.  I’m so worthless.
  • Jan 14: Yup. I just can’t see where the line is.  It’s blue all the way to the top which can’t be right.
  • Jan 14: I still never figured out the thermometer by the way.  In his defense, it was broken.  Not sure how that happened.
  • Jan 15: Look at you? Congrats. I’ll be home soon. Getting my taco on in the suburbs. Holla!
  • Jan 22: Drunk. With Salsa.  Sometimes I get photos, too!
    Jan 22: Drunk. with salsa.

    Jan 22: Drunk. with salsa.

  • Jan 28: This is the whit-fluence in my life.  Shower beer! Yes, that’s a beer in the shower caddy thing.
    Jan 28: This is the whit-fluence in my life.  Shower beer!

    Jan 28: This is the whit-fluence in my life. Shower beer!

  • Jan 30: I need Megan therapy time.  Can I schedule this for this evening?
  • Feb 3: Payam sighting! My realtor is always out and about and easy to spot.
  • Feb 3: Fact: I’m doing all my Mexican stuff shopping in Mt. Pleasant. Yay Bikeshare!
  • Feb 4: Ready to have your mind blown? I’m eating at a vegan cafe and bought a helmet.
  • Feb 5: We found a pipe.  Other people might walk right by a pipe lying on the ground, but Salsa and Corey pick it up, take a photo and text about it.
  • Feb 6: Participating in the political process: just signed petition for pat Mara to get on the ballot.  I’m going to feel dirty voting for a republican.
  • Feb 6: I’m going to sue you for non ADA-compliance.  My ridiculousness caused me to ride 84 bikeshare trips in 7 days which caused me great pain getting up your stairs.
  • Feb 6: Puppy Bowl!!!!!

That last one put me over the edge and inspired this post.  I hope you enjoyed the Puppy Bowl, too.   We’ve watched it for the last few years as it’s only on during the Superbowl.  And for all the guys out there, women eat this up, so if you’re hosting a Superbowl party, I highly recommend a brief switch to Animal Planet during a commercial or two.

Just another day in the life….

  1. #1 by Corey on February 7, 2011 - 4:17 pm

    Seeing all these texts at once, one could begin to question exactly where his or her life is going. Could being the operative word, because I surely don’t question it. I went back a little while and you missed some good ones.

    Nov 11: Being a pedestrian in Fairfax is scary.
    Nov 25: Seriously. Jesse Palmer is hot
    Nov 25: Rah rah ah ah ah Ro ma ro ma ma Ga ga ooh la la Want your bad romance
    Dec 1: I just sent you an email showing how $120k of a $520k house is from the mortgage interest deduction. It overstates the case but illustrates well
    Dec 4: Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooze
    Dec 8: Creepiest millionaire matchmaker ever.

    • #2 by Megan on February 7, 2011 - 7:21 pm

      Also, after your Dec 8: “Creepiest millionaire matchmaker ever. Wow” text, I also received:
      Dec 8: Make it stop Megan. Make it stop. Please. Wow.
      Dec 8: This has officially become the best MM episode ever. And I still have a segment left.

      You sometimes don’t leave things alone, and the series is what is so funny. See the GT5 bikelanes and thermometer texts.

  2. #3 by Megan on February 7, 2011 - 4:41 pm

    You’re right, I missed some good ones from late 2010. There are just so many to choose from!

    People tell us all the time that they wish they could be a fly on the wall at our house…I think this is a great representation of what really goes down. A whole lot of nothing that makes sense to anyone but us. And then we laugh.

  3. #4 by Goli on February 7, 2011 - 7:20 pm

    Um, Megan? When are you going to share the text that you sent Nick that night you missed my party?

    • #5 by Megan on February 7, 2011 - 7:24 pm

      Ah, yes! The best text I’ve ever SENT:

      Dec 11: Drunk!! At dans o admo! Hoping to makie it, but I drunk. Ahhh!!!

      I assumed the FB post would have been enough to publicly humiliate myself and show you how guilty I still feel about missing your party, so that was for you, Goli. I miss you!

  4. #6 by Lizzie on February 10, 2011 - 1:50 pm

    Props to beer in the shower. Poor man’s hot tub.

Leave a Reply

