Weight Train

After two months of holiday eating and drinking and eating some more without a care, I decided to go back to a healthy way of eating.  Sort of a New Year’s resolution, but sort of just getting back to normalcy and finding my balanced weight again.  I need to shed those extra pounds so I can totally rock my summer clothes next month in Australia!

First, many people need to start at the beginning and get educated about what the right choices are.  And let me tell you, they are not about what a package advertises!  High fiber! Low calorie! Whole wheat!  It’s mostly non-sense.  I think about the people on the Biggest Loser who have never seen a vegetable in their lives.  They start at square one, and that’s okay.  We all have to start somewhere.  For some very good advice about making decisions in a grocery store, I depend on Fooducate for my information.  They explain the food labels clearly and have an app that you can use in the grocery store to help you make decisions.  I’m waiting for the Droid version before I can recommend it.

As you may not know, I have a fascination with nutrition and nutritious foods.  Do I always eat that way?  No siree!  But it’s probably worse that I know what I should be eating and yet I don’t.  All of us struggle with decisions with the food we put in our mouths.  We eat for reasons we are not aware of.  We eat our way through a bag of chips because we aren’t even paying attention.  Even when mindful and attempting to make the right choices, we sometimes don’t have the energy, time or money to make the right choice.  I get it.

But once you get the basic knowledge about eating right, what do you do with it?  To really lose weight, you need to figure out how to get over the excuses.   I find that with just mindful eating I can get back to where I’m supposed to be.  I don’t do diets or stick to hard and fast rules, and that makes me so much happier!  In general, this is what I try to stick to.  No better explanation is out there about my food beliefs.  Feel free to ask me any questions, but I’m not an expert, just an interested follower.

Much like religion, you are welcome to tell me your beliefs, but I probably won’t follow it.  I’ve found what works for me.  In fact, I find that I’m extremely annoyed when people try to tell me that I’m not eating the right foods or that my choices are not the right choices.  If I ask, please tell me.  If you ask, I’ll be happy to share, but I won’t until you ask.  And if you ask, be ready for an earful!

And how do I know it works?  Experience.  I gained about 20 pounds my freshman year of college.  I had quit doing sports everyday as I did in high school, coupled with late nights of pizza and waffles at RDH (the oh so brilliantly named Residence Dining Hall), and I was on a terrible track.  Then I read Oprah’s weightloss book and just followed it.  Pretty simple:  Eat fruits and vegetables.  Don’t drink alcohol.  Drink water.  Eat consciously. Get exercise.  I lost those 20 pounds and more, and I looked damn good by my sophomore year!  And I think the early experimentation and success has helped me the rest of my life.  My weight has stayed constant since then, and if I gain a few pounds I try to keep it in check much like I’m doing now.

Why did I launch into all this on Monday morning?  I fell off the wagon this weekend.  Hard.  I had a few drinks and shared a dessert at a restaurant.  I ate soooo many chips at the football watching party.  I feel awful, not because of guilt but because the excess salt makes me feel so gross.

I’ve recently read articles that say accountability is the best way to help lose weight.  So, I’m telling you so I can be accountable for my actions.  Confessing my sins in public will hopefully shame me into fixing it!  Just kidding, but it is to say I’m human.  I’ll be back on track today; it is Monday after all, a fresh day to start a new week.  And since it isn’t a “diet” I didn’t break any rules.  But I had a great weekend, and I don’t regret anything!  I’ll adjust and move forward.  Someone once said that throwing your diet to the wind because you had a bad day is like poking holes in all your tires if one is flat.  In other words, don’t sabotage or make it worse!

To make me even more open and accountable, I give you this….

My weight chart since January 1, 2011

My weight chart since January 1, 2011

This is my daily weight log for 2011.  It feels like I’m standing naked in front of you!  Ahhh!  Now you know what I weigh, and I’m okay with that.  I’m a big believer in weighing yourself every day to keep tabs on the situation, though I usually do not log it like this.  Each day I log my weight, the trend line makes an adjustment.  That’s kind of a fun game, just like my blog stats.  But the trend line is going down, and that’s what I’m using as motivation.  I don’t really have a desired weight goal by February 24 (the date I leave for Australia), but I know it’s going in the right direction.  I just want to remain healthier and in a reasonable weight range.  My reasonable range is between 152 and 157 pounds (BMI between 21.5 and 22.5).  This is what I weighed my junior year of high school when I was active with sports every day after school and in my adorable young prime.  It also happens to be in the Tyra Banks range.

And if in doubt, I can always pull out my “check dress”.  It’s the dress I wore my junior year of high school…the navy, well-fitted Liz Claiborne dress in which I made my speech running for Student Body President.  I keep it and try it on every now and then just to see if it zips.  It fit the last time I tried it, but that was two years ago.  Maybe I’ll try it on again?  Am I the only one who has something crazy like this in my closet?

Thanks for hearing me out, and thanks for reading!  I’ll try to get a photo of me in the check dress…if it fits!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Alaina on January 24, 2011 - 7:31 pm

    I still have my tennis skirt from my sophomore year of high school. I haven’t been able to wear it since my junior year of high school, but I’ve kept it all these years just in case “someday” I might fit into it. It looks like that may happen this summer. Last Thursday my jeans literally fell off as I was walking around my house. I went to my “I hope this smaller size will fit one day in the future” pile of clothes, pulled out the same kind of jeans that are 2 sizes smaller, and was able to zip them right on up! Huzzah!

    • #2 by Megan on January 24, 2011 - 7:58 pm

      Yay Alaina!! I knew this would happen. I hope you don’t disappear into skinny lady oblivion this summer! I’m so proud of you! Keep up the good work with those triathlons and your running, too. Oh, and come over for a calorie burning dance party anytime!! Rah Rah Rasputin…

  2. #3 by kipper on January 25, 2011 - 12:13 am

    “Everyone scoot to the left one foot. Now scoot to the right one foot. See, working together we just cleaned the gym bleachers.”
    Megan Cummings. Student. Body. President.

    • #4 by Megan on January 25, 2011 - 12:12 pm

      Hahaha! I can’t believe you remember that! I’m nothing if not memorable. Go Panthers!

Leave a Reply

