Best Gifts Ever

I have some amazing friends that do amazing things for me.  Many of them are great gift givers.  I’m a terrible gift giver, so I appreciate anytime someone puts time or creativity or effort into giving me a gift.  I just have such thoughtful* friends!  For my housewarming, I got a really cool wine candle from Lane, a set of playful candle holders from Alice and and original Jose photo of the metro framed from Claudia and Jose.  It just makes me feel so warm inside that my friends have such great taste and that these reminders around my house help me think of them when I see the object.  I’m pretty sure I have not bought them anything in return, and I must do something about that soon.

Recently, I have been given some awesome gifts that are worth sharing here to show my thanks and remind me that I need to do a better job of giving.

1. Knit hat from my mom.  Over the holidays on Bainbridge Island, my mom and I took an outing to the downtown Winslow knitting shop.  I got to pick out some exquisite wool to complement my coat.  I usually just make my knit items with the cheap stuff, so that alone was extra special.  She started the hat while we were on vacation.  She was unable to finish it before I returned to DC, so I got a nice surprise when I returned home!  The hat is a perfect off white cable knit with the extra poof that the kids are wearing these days because my youngest sister directed my mother with the design.  I feel so “in” when I wear it!  And of course, it reminds me of the holidays and the time we spent as a family.

2. My girl Cosette is the absolute greatest gift giver of all time.  I have some great things around my house from her…the red crab that sits in my kitchen window, Ciao America the book that I’m getting through as her housewarming gift to me, and her grandmother’s etched juice glasses and pitchers.  That’s probably the girliest thing I own, and I love them!  The thing about Cosette’s gifts are that they are always loved before she gives them to me, and I love that about them!  She gives me gifts that have been in her home and she thought I would enjoy it, too.  I know I was on her mind when she was deciding what to do with her treasures.  And they are usually surprises!!

The best gift she gave me recently was a Christmas DVD that she had never watched.  I immediately put it in my Christmas box for next year (which is why I can’t recall the name, but it will be such a surprise next year!).  She read on my blog that I love Christmas movies and thought I would enjoy that one.  Now, her son is turning one in April/May, and I have never bought him anything or sent him anything!  I’m so ashamed, but when I meet him in March (hopefully) I will shower him with gifts from Australia!  Just you wait, Devon!

3. The best housewarming gift…ever.  When I visited my sister in Seattle in November, she gave me the greatest housewarming gift I’ve ever received.  I finally got around to taking photos of it and now I can share with you!  She spent almost a year working on the greatest quilt I’ve ever seen.  The design is amazing.  The handiwork is tremendous.  The colors are perfect for my living room.  And it has the metro map and a bike!!  I’ve been showing it off to anyone who comes to visit, and now I’m showing it off to you, readers.

I know when I make things (like a knit hat), I think about the person I’m giving it to the whole time I’m making it.  Well, she must have done a lot of thinking about me because this took hours and hours and days and days of work!  She’s part of a weekly quilting club where she has been honing her skills.  I’m just so impressed!  Isn’t it the most beautiful quilt you’ve ever seen?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, a special thank you to my mom, Cosette and Melissa for being so generous and giving.  Thank you, thank you, thank you!  I love you all!  I only hope that I can return the love that you’ve given me…in my own way, of course!

Oh, some other great gifts I got last week…soup and gatorade from Corby, homemade soup from Salsa, Gossip Girl from Corey and the trash taken out by Steve and Nick.  Sometimes, it’s the little things that make such a big difference.  Thank you!!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Heather Gragg on January 21, 2011 - 1:11 pm

    Lovely!

    • #2 by Megan on January 21, 2011 - 2:37 pm

      Heather, YOUR creations are lovely, too! I love seeing all the fun creative things you can do with fabric. So inspiring!

  2. #3 by Aaron on January 21, 2011 - 3:25 pm

    Love the quilt!

  3. #4 by CZ on January 21, 2011 - 4:00 pm

    ZOMG! I am so honored to be mentioned in your blog – and I’m so glad you like my little gifts! You just made my day with this post.

    I really hope we get to see you in March! And please don’t feel guilty about not getting anything for D. – he has plenty. 🙂

    • #5 by Megan on January 21, 2011 - 4:38 pm

      Yes, but does he have plenty from Australia? Hmmm? I’m going shopping for him and I’ll be damned if I don’t come back with some sort of stuffed kangaroo. Just you wait!

      And I LOVE your gifts! Unfortunately, I’m not as good at writing thank you notes as I should be, but I hope you realize how special I feel every time a surprise arrives. And that includes all your thoughtful postcards! I’m so lucky to have a friend like you, and I wish that everyone has a fun Cosette in their life!

Leave a Reply

