Am I boring?

Am I getting boring?  No seriously, you can tell me.  I started this blog to keep distant friends and family members aware of my daily life, especially when I do not have time to give everyone a call on a regular basis.  Hell, I hardly call my parents weekly anymore, and they’re always at the top of the list!

My problem with the blog is that I don’t have much interesting to say anymore.  Wha???  Yes, it’s true! Work has been great and busy, improv keeps me entertained a few nights a week, I date a bit but refuse to discuss it on the blog…other than that, what else is there to say?  Don’t get me wrong, I have plenty of thoughts that go through my head during the day.  For example, yesterday I saw enough patterned black panty hose to last me a long time, then I discovered that the hose I’m wearing to work today has a pattern in it! Such is the mundane fun of my life.

I’ve listened to Salsa Mike go on and on about the Winter Weather Warrior contest on Bikeshare.  I’ve watched Corey get back into a relationship after taking the smallest break I’ve ever seen for someone who has been in a relationship for 8.6666 years.  I’ve watched a TON of Gossip Girl, my new guilty pleasure, with Corby and hope that didn’t make her sick with what we’ve dubbed “The Gang Flu”.  I’ve danced some mornings to Just Dance 2 to try to burn calories and I’m keeping a journal of my attempts at weight loss.  And I’ve attempted the most generic and broad new years resolution with full thought and half a heart.

I’ve been taking the G2 to work some days and biking others.  I’m “building” a website for work and it’s coming along nicely.  I’m making travel arrangements to get me around Australia and practicing and trying to keep my anxiety down and remember that this is for fun.  I’ve been keeping up with the NFL playoffs since I really did not watch any college bowl games.  I write long emails to Subsidized Corn to try to keep us organized with shows in North Carolina and Australia and all the fun stuff that goes with that (and check out the new website).  I helped start a listserve for independent improv troupes in the DC area.  I’ve been reading my new kindle with a passion.

And yet I have an almost free weekend!  Time to get back to house stuff.  I need to de-germ the place top to bottom.  I still want to power wash the kitchen floor and paint the coffee table a nice blue color.  Hell, I just need to get the rest of the Christmas items put away!

So, to answer my own question, yes, I may be boring.  But I’m also a fantastic justifier!  I live a fortunate life that maybe just doesn’t translate on this blog.  Corey calls it my “Middle Class White Girl Problem.”  Should I tell you more about the fun we had at practice or about the funny thing my boss said the other day?  Maybe.  Actually, that would make for a great post in the future.  In the meantime, I’m off for a date to practice my not-being-boring me!

  1. #1 by kipper on January 20, 2011 - 10:25 pm

    I enjoy keeping up with a long distant friend. Even if it is one-sided. I just want to know when Subsidized Corn is going to tour the Midwest?

    • #2 by Megan on January 21, 2011 - 2:39 pm

      Yay, Kipp. I miss you!
      If you set us up in a show, handle the marketing and let us sleep on your floor, I’m sure I could convince a couple of Kernels to join me on a St. Louis tour! Too bad you’ll miss us in Lenoir…that’s going to be a blast!

Leave a Reply

