Aussie SubCo

As you could tell from my last generic post, it has been a busy week.  I guess that’s what happens when you get back from vacation at 10:00 on a Sunday night!  Not much time to get caught up.  Not only has it been busy (with improv, controversial guest blog post, Jersey Shore season 3 debut party), but I’ve been all over the place, which does not make for good blogging!

So much of my non-planning life these days seems to be centered on improv (does anyone else find the juxtaposition of planning and improvising as funny as I do?).  It’s tons of fun and has given me a great community of friends in DC.  And they are not those super wacky improv people I remember NOT liking in college because they were always “on”.  Here is the most exciting happening in my improv world lately…

Subsidized Corn is going to Australia!! Yes, it is true and the tickets have been booked.  Nick, Darnell, Goli and I are headed down under for the Adelaide Fringe Festival.  We have five shows scheduled over three days (March 4-6), and we’re hosting a workshop, too.  Yay!! We haven’t even performed outside the beltway before!

Performing in a different country certainly has its challenges. Yes, they speak English, but it isn’t our English!  I know very little about Australian slang since I have never been, and it seems to be tricky. In the one practice we’ve had so far I insulted Nick’s manhood and was told definitely that will not be warmly received and there may be some beasts waiting to beat me up after the show!  Whoops!  What else am I going to do that’s insulting?!?  I’m afraid to say the wrong thing or insult someone accidentally!  Which could be funny now that I’m thinking about it.

Second, what if they don’t get us?  I’m trying to be mindful in practice about topics that pertain to our country.  I’m pretty certain they will not be getting any Boehner references!  Typically we stay away from the political stuff (unlike what our troupe name might suggest…is the name Subsidized Corn even relevant or funny there?  Ahhhh!!)  I mean, they get the American stereotypes I’m sure, so time to practice my valley girl!

The good news is that I don’t know anyone there, so as long as I come back with all my teeth, I’ll be fine.  I’m balls to the wall on this adventure!  The only person who has anything to lose is Nick whose in laws will all be there to cheer us on.  No pressure, buddy.

Okay, so different slang and different references.  No problem.  However, there is the whole stress of traveling around the world to add to the performance anxiety…then subtract the fact that we’re on vacation and we’re about even.  I am so excited to see Adelaide as I’ve heard Deepti talk quite a bit about it.  And it will be summer time in February and March, so I’m really excited for warm temperatures and beaches.  And I get to see Sydney, Melbourne, Christchurch NZ and Wellington NZ, too.  Okay, not all scary.

The toughest part is that we are practically producing our own show from the other side of the world.  Poor Nick has his email inbox swamped with things like “entertainment visas” (to which Salsa says, “that’s debatable”) and healthcare purchases (to make sure we get the proper anti-venom after a poisonous bite) while trying to figure out how much to charge per ticket for the audience.  We are responsible for marketing ourselves and getting butts in the seats…in DC that’s a piece of cake.  Our plan is to hit the streets with postcards and just talk to people and invite them out.  The festival has a very artsy vibe and this is how it’s done!  But if you have other suggestions, we’d be very open to hearing them.

That said, if you know ANYONE that may be interested in going to the shows, or if you have friends who live there, please let us know!  Somehow my amazing network of friends just isn’t strong in that part of the world!

Did I tell you I get to meet up with Patrick while I’m there?  So excited to see his life in Wellington and very appreciative that he and Jason are letting me sleep on their couch, even while Patrick’s parents are there.  That’s some killer hospitality!  Thanks, guys!  And I get to see other USC buddies while traveling through Los Angeles both ways which is just an added bonus.

And speaking of hospitality, I’m staying with Goli in Sydney and Lylie’s (Nick’s wife) sister in Adelaide.  I love staying with people as I travel because you get to see neighborhoods and how people really live.  Maybe that’s the planner in me, but I’ll take that over some motorcoach tour any day.

If you have any tidbits or helpful hints from your travel to Australia, I would love to hear them!  Leave your stories in the comments!

  1. #1 by Goli on January 7, 2011 - 7:27 pm

    Love it! Can’t wait to have you! SubCo forever!

  2. #2 by Jason on January 19, 2011 - 10:05 pm

    Russ Johnson who was probably more familiar with your sister than in your circle(but he is on your friends list on facebook), is a Lenoir ex-patriot living in Sydney if I’m not mistaken, and serving as a Barrister there.

    • #3 by Megan on January 21, 2011 - 2:39 pm

      Thanks, Jason! What a great reminder. I’ll reach out to him.

Leave a Reply

