Gratitude Day 10: Heat

Clearly, I’m playing catch up on this blog as I’m almost a week behind!  I had a wonderful trip to Seattle, and I’ll be writing about that more later.  In the meantime…

Last Wednesday I was thankful for heat.  Last week when it was so cold, I turned on the heat in my house and nothing happened.  Actually, my mind was playing tricks on me and I convinced myself that it was getting warmer, but Corby disagreed and she was right.  I briefly thought that it was just the pilot light since it worked perfectly when the house was inspected in April and the boiler is only five years old.  It took me a few days to remember that when the bathroom subfloor was put in they had to take out the radiator, so they shut the system down and didn’t make it right when they put the radiator back.  Why am I not surprised?

I learned that it’s probably good to get the boiler and heat checked out (a yearly physical of sorts) BEFORE everyone else turns on their heat, too.  I watched a few videos online and learned all about how a boiler works…which is pretty interesting stuff.  The videos were so clear and easy to understand that I actually thought I might try it, then came to my senses realizing I could blow my head off, so I called the professionals.

The heater guy, we’ll call him Glen since he came from Glenmont HVAC repair, was very good (I found him on Angie’s List, so props for an A+ score they have and for calling me back before anyone else).  I told him I was a new homeowner and that for this first time I really wanted to learn as much as I could, and he taught me!  He gave me pop quizzes, taught me about how the pieces and the system work, and most importantly, how to get the air out of the radiators.  I feel pretty confident that if something goes wrong with the boiler that I can at least accurately describe the problem when I call them again to have it fixed!

Yup, this is interesting stuff

Yup, this is interesting stuff

The heat is up and running and I am thankful for that.  I’m also pleased that while we didn’t have heat, the temperature hovered around 60 degrees because it’s a pretty well insulated brick house.  And man, that heat works!  I’m very excited about that.  The house is not drafty or leaking as much air as the last house.  It gets warm quickly (we’ll see what the heating bills end up being!).  I’m just very happy that it works and I’m looking forward to being snuggly warm all winter.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

