Gratitude Day 7: Subsidized Corn

I love Subsidized Corn (our improv group, in case there is any confusion before I begin).  I am so thankful that I have this group of friends that I can spend time with each week playing and laughing.  Through the laughter, we are learning and pushing our boundaries and getting to know each other better and becoming better individuals.  Sunday evening, we had our first practice with a coach (who was a one-time deal because we like that we are self coached for now) and it went really well.  We worked for three hours with Mark and it was so much fun that time flew by.  I’m also thankful that Mark agreed to work with us!

This is such a supportive group, both on stage and off, and I am thankful that they are in my life.  We work well together and our strengths and weaknesses complement each other.  We are very much like a family unit, which each of us playing a specific role.  I remember the day we formed and Nick said that we should each agree that the minute it stops being fun that we have to communicate that immediately.  Just like any relationship, you need to let people know how you feel and if you need support for anything, you need to voice it because people are not mind readers.  Since then it has been a lot of fun, and we’ve been very good about voicing concerns, issues and even praise.  As a whole, we’re very innocent and have good clean fun.  We’re the underdogs you want to pull for because you relate to them.  Individually, we’re average, but together, we’re super stars.  We are the 2010 WIT Cagematch Champs, after all!

I know I have a tendency to go on and on about them, so I’ll stop there today.  I just wanted to be clear to them, in case I don’t tell them enough, how special they are to me.  I am thankful that we have SubCo practice each week as an excuse to catch up with them (even though some weeks I’m more excited than others).  And I’m still not ready to talk about Goli leaving us for Sydney, so I won’t.  However, I will be seeing her next spring.  Stay tuned for details.

Lizzie's SubCo design for the last show

Lizzie's SubCo design for the last show

So, thank you Nick, Darnell, Steve, Lizzzie, Goli and Laura for all the laughs and support!!

(And readers, if you have a minute and haven’t seen our interview for the last run we did, take a moment and read it.  That will help you understand how our personalities, and spreadsheet skills, work together.)

,

  1. #1 by Goli on November 9, 2010 - 12:18 am

    Love it! 🙂

  2. #2 by Laura on November 9, 2010 - 6:41 pm

    This is so sweet. Subsidized Corn has made me so happy! SNIFF

Leave a Reply

