Gratitude Day 5: Self expression through dance

Friday, I took a dance class.  Actually, I took a dance class on Wednesday, too.  And I am thankful that I have the gusto and humility to walk into these classes not knowing anything. A little background: when I was younger I took tap, ballet, jazz and all the dance classes you could imagine.  About once a week until I was 12, I was going to classes and performing in recitals like all the other little girls.  I’m sure it was my mother’s way of trying to keep me from being an ungraceful ogre as I was much bigger (taller and wider) than most kids my age.  It mostly worked and I am, to this day, graceful enough that I don’t trip over my own feet when I walk.

I bought a one-week pass at BTI for $20.  On Wednesday, I took an Advanced Beginner ballet class.  They told me on the phone I could handle it, but they were mostly wrong.  It’s been over 20 years since my last ballet class.  As much as I was behind, I actually held my own in a class that has been practicing week after week.  I did more than okay for a 20 year hiatus.  And the steps came back to me quickly…in my head if not my body.  What they failed to tell me was that there was an intro class and a beginner’s class that I could have taken.  Nothing like a challenge!

Last night, I took another dance class, and this one was based on Glee!  The teacher takes the moves from the previous show and by Friday comes up with the choreography to teach.  This class was a beginner class, and I could totally hang.  Plus, since this week was a re-run, we got to do steps from the Britnay/Britney show a few weeks ago.  There were only five of us and it was really fun.

I am appreciative that my body can still move like that.  I am also thankful that I have friends who like to go dancing and who throw great weddings and parties with dance included.  Although I am never the first one on the dance floor, I will eventually get there.  And thank you to my friends who usually coax me out there because sometimes all I need is a little push.  I also dance around the house, especially when Corey sings the magic phrase, and that always put me in a good mood.  I like dancing when no one is looking.  I didn’t like dancing in front of the full-length mirror in class though!

I am even more appreciative of people who make their livelihood this way because it is hard work.  I bet the cast of Glee has a blast each day learning the new steps and I can only imagine how hard it is to do that all day, every day.  So, I am thankful that I am physically able to partake, ignorant to my limitations and humble to enough to walk into a class where I have no idea what is going on.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

