30 Gratitudes

Happy November!  This month I will be trying something new, inspired by another WordPress blog that I have since lost.  The blog was about giving thanks each day by writing down the item that you are thankful for, then reading each item at the Thanksgiving table.  That guy spent $75 at Pottery Barn Kids for some preppy looking Thanksgiving Tree to go on his wall to hold each day’s thanks.  Instead, I intend to spin it by writing one article each day about something that I appreciate in my life.  Sort of like Oprah’s gratitude journal, but public.

Giving thanks is a weird concept to me, since I’m not really sure who I am thanking in some situations and since I do not believe in a higher power (other than the Universe, which would be too complicated to explain in parentheses).  For example, I am thankful that I have a great job, but am I thanking my bosses for that?  So many factors and people have led me to my job, but is it possible to be thankful to each of them consciously?  Doubtful.  Instead, I will just appreciate that it is.

I will try to write each post at the end of the day and may keep it relevant to events of that day if possible.  If I have other posts not related to the “30 Gratitudes Project” I’ll post them, too.  Should be a fun project and I can’t wait to see how it turns out!  I already have so much to appreciate that I could probably fill the next year of posts!  But, let’s just take one post at a time, shall we?

In the meantime, a task for you.  One morning on my way to work walking from the metro to my office, I decided to list anything I was grateful for.  It was a rapid fire, think-on-your-feet listing game (as I love to do in improv).  That put me in such a great mood for the entire day.  So I challenge you to take five minutes of your morning (during your commute is a perfect time) to rapid fire an appreciation list.   Don’t write it down, just list in your head.  Whether you want to move your lips or stick out your tongue while you do it is your choice.  You can be grateful for each finger and each toe, individually if you choose, so if you can’t come up with at least a few minutes of appreciation listing, then think about making some adjustments and get creative!  I know you have so much to be grateful for.  Let me know how it goes.

  1. Gratitude Day 1: People who keep me in check « The Megan Jane Update

Leave a Reply

