Beach Day

On Saturday, Reyna and my new friends Sabra and Lenny packed up and headed to Chincoteague for the day.  It was an easy trip and the beaches reminded me a lot of NC beaches…then made me really miss a real family beach vacation.  It’s been a few years since I’ve been, but that is a real vacation.  In LA, I lived a mile from the beach and saw it every morning as I got off the elevator at work…those were the days!  I’m not a beach person that much, but I really enjoyed my quiet time and meditation and shell hunting.

I also realized I haven’t been out of the country for two years!!  And we’re coming up on the blackout dates so major international travel will be off limits until December, and I’m already planning a domestic trip to Seattle then.  Maybe next year…I just don’t want to be one of those people who says “maybe next year” then next year never comes.

Today I spent a little time looking where my frequent flyer miles can take me, or where I can get out of the country for a short jaunt.  Maybe Paris for a long weekend in the fall?  I’m already headed to NC and CA in back to back weekends, plus a camping trip, so fall is starting to fill up quickly.  I’ve been a little out of sorts recently and I think either a vacation or massive overhaul and purging of junk in my house is in order.  Luckily, I had an awesome date on Sunday night to get me back into sorts, so that’s been nice.

Anyway, here are some photos of us at the beach and eating ice cream.  I left my camera in the car to avoid sand, so thanks to Reyna for these photos!  And thanks to Sabra and Lenny for a great time and allowing a stranger to tag along.  We had so much fun, and I hope I get to hang out with them in the city, too.

Reyna and me at the beach

Reyna and me at the beach

Chincoteague, but it looks like NC, too!

Chincoteague, but it looks like NC, too!

Ice cream with Lenny, Sabra and Reyna

Ice cream with Lenny, Sabra and Reyna

  1. #1 by Deepti on August 17, 2010 - 12:55 pm

    Mings, I would love to do another international trip with you! I have no trips planned in 2011 yet….

Leave a Reply

