DC Earthquake!

This week has been a very productive and demanding week at work.  I’m truly exhausted.  So last night, as soon as I got home from one of the most difficult first dates ever (note to self…maybe ask if they have Asperger’s BEFORE going on the date), I completely crashed on the sofa.  Not sure what time it was, but I put myself to bed…barely.  I was practically asleep, which is why I just turned on the alarm and took off all my clothes and crashed.

Well, the alarm was set for 5:00 a.m. since I had to be at work at 6:00 yesterday.  Ugh.  So, of course the alarm went off at 5:00 this morning…well, really 4:53 because I set all my house clocks to 7 minutes ahead because I can only subtract in 5s or 10s, thus giving me an extra two minutes.  So, I’m sort of in and out and I feel my bed shake.  It was enough to wake me up.

Here were the thoughts that instantly ran through my head at that hour…

The “box spring” is homemade so it has a little play, but play from what?  Well, anytime someone closes the front door, the house shakes, so I’m used to shaking.  But Corey is out of town for the weekend so it wasn’t the front door.  Or could someone have broken in?  Shhh, stay quiet…crap, I’m not wearing clothes.  Why was I so lazy and tired last night that I couldn’t put on pajamas?  Should I put on clothes now in case the robber comes upstairs?  No, that’s dumb, I locked the front door and what idiot would shut the front door hard enough to have the house shake?  It really felt like an earthquake, much like those little ones that woke me up in California.  That’s certainly a familiar feeling.  Makes me feel like I’m in California a little bit.  Geez, Megan, that’s even dumber and less practical than a loud robber.  Go back to sleep.

And what did I find out this morning?  Earthquake.  Turns out I was not being ridiculous after all.  And it made me miss California a bit.  As weird as it sounds, I felt like I was in California, like my brain was tricked for a split second, and that was sort of a nice feeling to wake up to!

In other news, two pop quiz questions for you:

1. This morning I woke up feeling gross and sick because a.) the mediocre sushi I ate for lunch yesterday, 2.) the mediocre Thai I had last night, 3.) complete lack of sleep for the week or 4.) heat exhaustion because I was so tired that I did not turn on the A/C before I went to bed.

2. I have nothing to eat in this house, so this morning I mixed together the leftover ingredients from gorp from camping last week.  I’m eating it in bed for breakfast because I took a sick day today.  Next time I get out of bed, which of the four ingredients and in what quantities, will I find in the sheets?  Ingredients include M&Ms, peanuts, raisins and sunflower seeds.  Keep in mind that since I have food and drink and a computer, it may be awhile before I get out of bed.  Discuss.

This post is dedicated to Goli, one of my favorite CA girls.  Even though we have our differences, something tells me our thought processes were the same this morning!

Bragging about my homemade box spring master storage compartment

Bragging about my homemade box spring master storage compartment

  1. #1 by Cameron Jones on July 16, 2010 - 10:09 am

    My favorite part of your post:

    “So, of course the alarm went off at 5:00 this morning…well, really 4:53 because I set all my house clocks to 7 minutes ahead because I can only subtract in 5s or 10s, thus giving me an extra two minutes.”

    So true (not to mention hilarious).

    Not. happy. about. earthquake. Scary.

  2. #2 by Goli on July 16, 2010 - 11:00 am

    Our thought processes were totally the same this morning! I was so confused (half-asleep) and kept wondering if I was in CA and had forgotten or something. You thinking it was a robber? I was thinking it was a low-flying jet plane.

  3. #3 by Paul on July 16, 2010 - 4:27 pm

    Quiz answers:
    1. All of the above
    2. 4 seeds, 2 m&m’s 1 peanut, 1 raisin

Leave a Reply

