Bathroom Floor

I know you just can’t wait for such an exciting post about my tiling adventures!!  Well, it was easier than I thought and I’m thrilled with the results.  All you have to do is have the right tools, some patience, and follow directions.  Just that simple.  Here are the results…

Completed bath floor in the sunlight
Completed bath floor in the sunlight

I used slate tiles which are very forgiving because they are a bit irregular themselves.  And I offset the pattern in case I was not able to create a straight line the length of the bathroom (that was a killer suggestion from Paul).  Cousin Paul, Uncle Tom’s son, loaned me the materials which was very helpful, so major thanks go out to him for his tools, encouragement and guidance.  I would not have been able to save as much money had I bought the materials (and where would I store them?).  The other part that intimidated me was mixing the grout and mortar, so you can imagine the elation (that is not a hyperbole) I felt when I found the pre-mixes of both.  I thought I was going to cry tears of joy.

I made the biggest mess and it was so much fun!  I put the tile cutter on the kitchen counter and thank goodness I had not cleaned the kitchen yet because there were brown clay speckles everywhere – fridge, wall, stove, sink, you name it.  The saw just poured and poured brown water out the back and front like the New River.  I used two whole rolls of paper towels just to clean up the mess.  We’re talking puddles of water and dirt.  Nasty fun.

I figured I saved about $800 doing this myself.  And my back hurts and it took an extra two days plus one day of PTO, but whatevs.  I love it.  And some of you guys had doubts….at least you didn’t tell me until after the fact.  Today when I get home, I will have a toilet and sink (worth another post for sure), Oh Happy Day!!  It’s been nine days without a toilet and sink in the bathroom – I’m so ready.  (Yes, I’m using the basement apartment for all my, ahem, needs).  Then the baseboards, paint, installing the mirror and lights, then decorating!! 

Mom and Dad are on their way to DC as I type this, so I’m pumped.  They are bringing ladders and plants and tools and willing hands.  I’m so excited to see them and show them the house and work together like old times.  Old times meaning when they made me help Dad because Mom had no physical strength, Melissa was too clever, and Emily was too fragile to help.

  1. #1 by Paul on May 27, 2010 - 5:21 pm

    Yay Megan!!!

  2. #2 by Rebecca on May 27, 2010 - 6:43 pm

    Well done Megan!

  3. #3 by Lizzie on May 31, 2010 - 2:30 pm

    So impressed you took this task on, and didn’t lose any fingers. The summer my Dad retitled our family bathroom turned into the year he retitled the bathroom. It took so long we were still showering at family friends’ until Christmas! Good on you.

Leave a Reply

