Certain Future

My, my world.  What will you bring me this weekend?  It seems I will barely know you before you are gone.  My prediction is that you will bring me paint, tiles, more than two trips to Home Depot, a quickly emptying bank account, a few beers with friends, three powerful improv showcases and hopefully some down time.

This homeownership thing is kind of cool.  I have no clue what I’m doing, but I’m figuring it out as I go.  And with each step I take (or is that each check I write?), I get a little bit more confident that I won’t ruin my house.  I imagine it to be much like having a baby – something that you are preparing for, then you are in shock when you get it and terrified at the same time, then you figure it out and realize that small mistakes really aren’t that big of a deal in the grand scheme of things. 

Empty bathroom with solid floor

Empty bathroom with solid floor

So I ripped off the baseboard in the bathroom – so what?  Or that I cut a hose under the kitchen sink with scissors and water poured everywhere.  Will the house police come to take me away?  Nope.  I have no toilet and no bathroom sink, yet I am getting along quite well.  Humans are resilient.  Houses are resilient.  And when neither are, you call a professional.  I have a very nice solid bathroom floor thanks to a contractor that finally called back, and awesome new working ceiling fans, smoke detectors, outdoor lighting, etc. thanks to a swift electrician.  Ahh, patience.

At this point I worry about Corey and whether he can tolerate it!  So far he’s stayed away from the craziness and has continued to stay at 1357.  If he rents a place, he should at least expect it should have a functional bathroom, you know?  It’s one thing for me to deal with it – I’ll be okay.  It’s another for a tenant to pay good money for a place that looks like this!  However, he’s awesome, and I’ve said it 100 times and will continue to say that he is the best roommate ever.  I am so pleased and tickled that he has decided to join me in this next place and next phase.  I am very lucky to have him and very happy that he lets me sing Christmas carols while we paint (and it wasn’t my idea!!).

Special shout out goes to Cameron, who I’ve “hired” to help me decorate, thanks to Meghann connecting someone with a need (me) to someone who can help (Cameron).  We’ve come up with a plan for the bathroom and she’s reminded me of some very good mantras for decorating.  Plus, she’s helped me make some decisions and look at things a bit differently than I would have without her, and for that I am very thankful.  I’ve been very pleased and can’t wait to see how it turns out.  It should be done by Wednesday or so.  The plan is thus: buy some tiles today, get an estimate and lay out the tiles where I want them tomorrow, mortar and tile on Sunday morning, grout on Monday evening, paint sometime without messing with the floor on Tuesday, plumber to install stuff on Wednesday (hopefully).  That’s a long time to be without a toilet, and I’m already pretty dehydrated from not drinking water so I won’t have to pee…not real sure that’s the best action plan. 

Goodbye 1357. We'll miss you.

Goodbye 1357. We'll miss you.

In the meantime, we’re closing up shop at 1357.  Corey and I spent Wednesday night putting primer on the blue walls while singing in the fabulous acoustics that is an empty house with hardwood floors.  I have one more trip to make with stuff, another coat or two of primer then the final walk through on Sunday.  Our landlord Michelle has been awesome and I hope to follow her example as I am soon to be a landlord myself.  If anyone is looking to rent a great two bedroom row house on Capitol Hill close to the metro and grocery stores, please don’t hesitate to send them to me.

One final note…I need some help.  If you have a free evening and want to drop by and put some Ikea shelves together or just keep me company while I work, I would love it.  Corey leaves on Sunday for a nine day adventure, so I have no manly hands to help with stuff like untwisting the hose pipes or moving the stove back in place.   Now that improv class is over, my schedule is a bit more free.

Luckily my parents are coming to visit for Memorial Day to help out!!  Yay!!  So, everyone is invited when they are in town!  Come by and meet them and help plant a plant in my front yard!

So, future, I’m not exactly sure what you hold for me.  I am sure that whatever it is, I can handle it.  And if not me, my friends, parents or professionals.  Or Uncle Sam if he would ever get that sizeable check sent my way.

  1. #1 by Paul on May 21, 2010 - 7:37 pm

    Toilet before decorating, dear!

Leave a Reply

