Fab-o

Can I just say right now that things are really good – without jinxing it?  And it isn’t that everything is swimmingly perfect or dazzlingly falling into place.   Work is good, I’m still looking for a house to buy, and my personal life seems to be actively settled.  I haven’t traveled in a while, and I’m living quite frugally so I can eek out that last little bit for a down payment.  My improv performance on Saturday was mediocre at best, but who cares?

Yet, I’m so thrilled to be alive.  I can’t even explain it.  It’s coming from within and I’m about to burst!  I’ve had this quite a bit since just before Christmas.  It’s a calm, warm feeling.  The good days are totally outnumbering the bad ones.  It feels like everything is as it should be.  Comfortable yet still exciting.

During my 7-minute walk from the Metro to my office the other day, I challenged myself to rattle off all the things I could think of to be thankful for.  I could have easily gone for another 20 minutes.  But geez, that turned into a great day.  And now look!  Positive thoughts do breed more positive thoughts.

Part of this confidence and adjustment comes from something I was dealing with last week – I was drowning in my own head, but I figured it out and emerged in a better place.  I worked through it, listened to myself, read a bit, and slowed down.  I talked with people like my Mom, Darnell, and “Salsa Verde” Mike (not to be confused with “Improv” Mike).  And I’m back!!  It’s like I figured out that no matter what, I can’t lose.

This weekend was certainly a fun weekend.  Friday afternoon I came up empty on the house hunt.  Friday night was a “Corn” trip to Damascus High School with Goli, Darnell, and Nick to see Steve direct the HS performance of Thoroughly Modern Millie.  They were darn good, too.  I was very impressed with the high schooler’s talents, and the directing wasn’t so bad, either!  Saturday, I missed coffee with Rob because of some house stuff, then improv all day.  Watched Lizzie and Brandon perform at 3:00, then went to dinner with Darnell, Nick, and Lylie before our 6:00 performance.  I worked the booth again (counting the volunteer hours towards a discount on classes).  After three rounds of FIST performances (including Jules’ victory), grabbed a few drinks with Jules, Brandon, Pat, Alana and Improv Mike.  Sunday was (br?)lunch at Firefly, Hirschorn Museum and Thai with Improv Mike.  Awesome weekend. 

Moral of the story….love.  Send it out without expectation or condition and it will return exponentially.

Okay, weirdest thing.  Three minutes after I finished this post, I’m editing it and BAM!  Peter, Paul and Mary came on Pandora with the song “There is Love.”  I kid you not.  This is getting freaky.

  1. #1 by Chuck Cummings on March 16, 2010 - 6:44 pm

    Sounds like your heart is in the right place and your mind is following its lead. You go girl!!

Leave a Reply

