Day Five

Kim, this one’s for you.  It’s day five on my all natural diet, though I should not be counting because I hope this becomes a way of life instead of a “diet” diet.  I’m not trying to lose weight or anything silly.  The goals of this diet are to eat more naturally, be stronger, of clearer mind (and skin), and include all the food groups in even proportions.  Less chemicals, more vitamins.

Much like my “religion” I did not get this diet from any one place, instead combining my beliefs from my research and folks who know.  Leah in Santa Monica, the nutritionist at USC that I had a consultation with, and bits and pieces from the interwebs are my main sources of information.  So, take it for what it’s worth, but it always works for me.  I’ve done this diet for a month or two each year for the last four years and felt amazingly clear headed and light.  It’s the weirdest thing, but it’s absolutely true that the better food you put into your body, the better your body will work for you.

Yum.

You can make your own “rules” but the premise is basic:

  • Eat what comes from the earth.  Read the labels on EVERYTHING.  If you don’t recognize the ingredients as a vegetable or fruit or meat, then don’t eat it.  I usually go vegetarian for this, but that’s my option since I don’t eat red meat anyway.  When Corey does this, he eats massive amounts of all natural steak and asparagus.  That works.  I go crazy for all natural peanut butter and spread it on an apple or banana.  Just make sure to balance fruits, vegetables, carbs and proteins.  I take a multivitamin daily for anything I’ve missed, but then again, that’s a big ol’ blob of chemicals which is sort of against the whole premise.
  • Eat when you’re hungry.  I eat all day long, every few hours, but I don’t eat much so it all evens out.  And thanks to beans and tea, I stay full longer.  Protein every time you eat is essential.
  • Drink only water and tea.  Don’t even get me started on the stuff that’s in soft drinks!  I refuse.  And orange juice is okay as long as there is no sugar.  Or you could squeeze your own oranges, but who has time for that?
  • No added sugars.  Watch out for all types of sugars in everything.  It auspiciously hides with many different names.  Fruit sugars are okay – we need some amount of natural carbohydrates from sugar.

And that’s it.  I’m not a dietician, so don’t take my medical advice.  I just know it works for me.  And it is a fun past time figuring out what is “good” or “bad” and the trends.  Let me know if you have questions!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

