Salli’s Visit

Yes, Salli came to visit me this weekend!  I know Salli from undergrad and I have not seen her for about two years.  I don’t keep up with too many of my college buddies, but I’m glad she’s one of them.  We lived together in UT for a summer with my sister Melissa and Erica.  Mostly Erica and I studied, and Mel and Salli played beer pong.  Now Salli is a college professor at Shenandoah University in Winchester and this was her first visit (of many hopefully) since moving there last Fall.

The occasion for her visit was the UNC Charlotte vs. GW game on Saturday afternoon.  For a school that doesn’t get to DC much with their alumni reach, it was exciting to see so many supporters.  Or maybe it was the tiny gym – 5,000 spectators, max.  Charlotte lost by five points, but it wasn’t even close.  Our guys just did not play with any heart until the last minute when they realized they could win if they tried.

Later that night at Tonic, Arlene, Reyna, Danni and Daniel (Salli’s friend) joined us for some interesting “battle of the sexes” surveying and trying to understand how men work.  I still don’t get it, but I’m closer thanks to the random survey of six nice gentlemen at the next table over.  Bottom line, boys, don’t text a girl.  Man up and call her.  If you like her, call her sooner.

Salli and I had brunch at Matchbox on Sunday morning.  Yum.  Then she helped me hang a curtain in my room that had fallen.  Exciting stuff.  Oh, and we watched quite a bit of my new favorite channel, Current TV.  We were lovin’ some Target Women with Sarah Haskins.  I’m such a fan.  Watch some clips for yourself and tell me that isn’t the funniest thing you’ve seen in awhile.  The station is great – they play lots of documentaries and shorts, some made from viewers.  Interesting perspectives about what’s going on in the world.

  1. #1 by Arlene on April 9, 2010 - 11:22 pm

    Catching up on your blog. Yay to getting a shout out and being part of your world :-)!

Leave a Reply

