House status

Okay!  Here’s the update on how the whole house thing went down so fast:

  • Thursday, Jan 7: I sent Payam (my awesome Realtor) a list of places I wanted to see.  Location was my #1 priority, and with that came safety and access to the metro.  I had a pretty good idea what I wanted.  And no condos because I wanted a yard and no condo fees.
  • Saturday, Jan 9: Scouted out neighborhood with Felice.  I had a pretty good idea of where I wanted to be, so we did drive-bys of some of the houses on my list.
  • Sunday, Jan 10: Looked at houses with Aunt Bonnie and Payam for the first time.  Saw some doozies, one real nasty foreclosure that had been absolutely wrecked.  Saw some great ones at the right price in a neighborhood that was just too residential for me.
  • Monday, Jan 11: Looked at one more home, then determined that I really liked one of the homes I saw the day before.
  • Tuesday, Jan 12: Put in an offer well below asking.  You never know, and the worst they can say is no.
  • Wednesday, Jan 13: My awesome Realtor negotiated his little heart out.  He’s a bulldog that way.  We expected a counter offer.  Apparently the seller had received multiple offers before, but declined them all because they were under the asking price that he was stuck on.  The other offers did not have my realtor or timing.  Did you know the best time to make an offer on a house is the first week of January?  Coming off the holiday spirit of giving with bills to pay and another mortgage check just paid for a house they don’t want.  Good to know.
  • Friday, Jan 15: Counter offer received for slightly more than I offered.  Done.

I got a whale of a deal.  Seriously.  It still has to pass inspection and I have to finalize my appraisal and financing…anything could go wrong at this point.  But I’m very optimistic because I’m in good hands.  That’s what happens when you hire experts you trust.

About the neighborhood.  It’s in Columbia Heights, just west of Howard University.  It’s exactly .6 miles from the Columbia Heights Metro and U Street Metro, both on the yellow and green lines.  It’s on a one-way local residential street, but very walkable to restaurants, bars and other necessities.  The neighborhood is transitioning, but it isn’t more scary or dangerous than any other area in the city.

About the house.  Huge front and back yards on .06 acre, whatever that means.  The back yard has room to build a garage and a vegetable garden.  Lots of potential and needs some work, but liveable now.  Three levels, lots of light, five bedrooms (you read that right) and two full bathrooms.  Which means I’ll have at least one bedroom set up for guests, so come on over (perfect for drunken nights)!  I’ll post photos after the inspection.

Thanks for all your support, positive thoughts and continued interest.  So far, so good!  And I’ll keep you updated as things continue to happen.

  1. #1 by jules on January 18, 2010 - 4:38 pm

    Congratulations! Can’t wait to see it.

  2. #2 by Alice on January 20, 2010 - 5:10 pm

    That’s amazing Megan!!! Best of luck with the process. Pumped to see it and that you’ll be in the hood. E-mail or call and let me know the address!

Leave a Reply

