Big Decisions

Yes, I am looking for a house.  And while no one has said they are interested in hearing about my trials and tribulations (really, you can get all of that wrapped up in a neat 30 minute episode on HGTV), I’m sharing with you anyway because there is one part worth sharing: making the decision as a single woman to own a home.  Approximately 1 in 5 homes sold now are sold to single women.  Who knew?

If you are not single or not a woman or have never bought a home by yourself, I’m not sure if you can understand how difficult this decision is.  Of course buying any home is a major decision and worth several sleepless nights, but buying one where only you are responsible for payments is even scarier.  I will have a roommate and get to deal with that fun to help bring my costs down and give me a sense of security, so it is not a completely terrifying situation.  Generally I am making some conservative decisions because I have to – if I don’t make it I have no one to blame but myself.

But it’s about more than finances at this point.  I remember watching Oprah about 10 years ago (when I was in college and a complete different mindset) and there was a single woman who was afraid to buy a house in case “Mr. Right” came along.  She thought that buying a house by herself meant she was destined to die alone as an Old Maid and by all accounts, that she had given up the hunt for a man.  That was awhile ago and times have changed, but clearly that stuck with me.  I don’t ever want to be that woman.  Oprah challenged her and asked the same questions that I would have – basically calling her out on her silliness.  Bless Oprah.

I can’t help but think this would be so much more fun with someone by my side to share in the joys and tense moments.  But through this I have realized two very important lessons:

  1. I do have lots of people to share the joys and tense moments with.  Felice drove me around looking at neighborhoods on Saturday.  Aunt Bonnie looked at houses with me on Sunday.  Corey asks for updates every day and does online research for me.  Lindsay waited by the phone with me last night.  So I have plenty of people to share with, I just happen to be spreading it amongst a bunch of folks!
  2. Hell yeah this would be more fun with that special someone.  But so would moving across country and back.  So would having someone support me through grad school.  So would traveling through Europe.  All of those things I did on my own and I would not trade one single minute of my awesome experiences just to have a built-in support system.  I would be a completely different person, and certainly not as strong as I am today.

So bring it on, Payam!  This has already been quite fun, and the fun is just beginning.  I’m not worried because I have nothing to lose.  It will work out in the end…it always does.  I’m charmed that way!

  1. #1 by Pam on January 14, 2010 - 5:47 pm

    Hey, I neglected to say it in a comment on your last post, but I wanted to hear the house saga! Thanks for sharing it.

  2. #2 by kipper on January 14, 2010 - 6:45 pm

    Yeah, what happened over the weekend? And I will be in town June 1-6 and need a place to stay. So, you have a few months. Also, in your data analysis of this blog do we show up as having it on our google readers?

  3. #3 by Megan on January 14, 2010 - 7:14 pm

    Kipp, You will always have a place to stay as long as I’m here. I’ll need a place by June 1-6, too!
    In the analysis, I have one click today from google reader. The rest seem to come from facebook, but it still no where near equals the number of clicks it tells me I have each day.
    Thanks for reading, Hippsters!

Leave a Reply

