Curling with B&D

Curling RocksEach year one of our clients invites a few folks from my company to a curling event that they (she) hosts.   “She” is Ann Drummie who works for Brailsford and Dunlavey a few floors below us, and she has been curling for about 20 years.  She trained but did not make the USA 2010 Curling Team, but I hear she gave it a good shot.   There’s always 2014 because this is a sport that you can get better with age.

Chris, Beth and her fiance Jeff made the trek to Laurel, MD to the Potomac Curling Club.  There is a “hang out room” that is heated (important) with couches, tvs and windows to the ice.  My favorite part was when she said we could help ourselves to the cold drinks by the ice in the metal cabinet, not a refrigerator, because the whole room is cold!  I got tickled by that.

So this was my second time curling because Emily Dalphy and I represented last year.  It is so much fun that words do not describe.  For the first 30 minutes we went over technique and rules, then we were off!  Not as easy as it looks, and I have the bruises to prove it.  You fall on the ICE if you are not graceful enough to keep your balance.  The four of us made for a pretty lousy team and we only scored once in two games.  But I’m pretty sure we were the most enthusiastic group there!

If you are interested in trying it, let me know.  Ann has all the ins to help you/us get started.  They open the ice for newbie training, and I would certainly go again!

  1. #1 by kipper on November 25, 2009 - 10:52 am

    So jealous. Even more fired up for the Winter Olympics. I wonder if they have curling on the Wii Olympic game. . .

Leave a Reply

