Planning Geekery

In the next few days, I will be getting my fill of planning and all the dorkiness that goes with it.  Tonight, I’m dragging Chris to a presentation on Cycle Chic in Amsterdam.  Tomorrow night is former USC Professor Greg Hise at the National Building Museum presenting “Plan Like Your Life Depends On It.”  Friday I will be attending the USC SPPD’s reception at the ACSP Conference (American Collegiate Schools of Planning) to catch up with local folks and professors who have made the trip from Southern California.  I will be speaking at the conference on Saturday morning with Jennifer Raitt about the APA Policy Guides and how to integrate them into the college curriculum.  Or something like that.

Every day is this Planner's day on the Hill.

Every day is this Planner's day on the Hill.

Oh, but it doesn’t end there.  No, no, no.  The ACSP conference always coinsides with the APA Leadership retreat weekend.  I just have a meeting on Saturday night and possibly crashing a reception at the Building Museum then I am relieved of my duties.  But, the APA’s Federal Policy and Program Briefing is from Sunday to Tuesday, with Tuesday being Planners Day on Capitol Hill.  Not so related to my duties, so I will not be taking part (I’m taking Sunday all to myself!).  But, if you happen to see more DC folks than normal checking out street trees and curb cuts, you’ll know why.

 

You can play the at-home version by reading some of these fabulous planning quotes.

  1. #1 by kipper on September 30, 2009 - 3:48 pm

    Love the cycle chic website! I am struggling with what to wear bicycling right now, to the point that I am not riding my bike to work, but taking the bus. The cooler weather and this site give me hope, but first to buy the mud guard!

Leave a Reply

